Posted by: krista | July 1, 2008

Om Mani Padme Hum

I have a pretty long relationship with this mantra. I fell in love with it way back before I even practiced Buddhism. It’s always felt a little like home to me. I first heard it through this recording, from this amazing box set that Chris gave me called “A Peaceful Journey” which I was unable to find through google unfortunately, so no linkage. It must be out of print/copy.

[audio:http://www.thesilentk.com/music/ommanipadmehum.mp3%5D

I’ve heard it chanted deeply by Tibetan monks in that low deep chanting voice they have, I have heard it sung, and I have heard it whispered. I have heard Aidan sing it, and I have chanted it myself, over and over again, prayer bead, after prayer bead.

It sort of encapsulates all the Buddhist teachings in these small powerful six syllables, and no brief explanation can really explain it. Even the wikipedia seems to struggle to make it clear.

It is profound, and speaks to me on many levels.

The Buddhist Mantra: Om Mani Padme Hum

Gen Rinpoche, in his commentary on the Meaning of said:

“The mantra Om Mani Pädme Hum is easy to say yet quite powerful,
because it contains the essence of the entire teaching. When you say
the first syllable Om it is blessed to help you achieve perfection in the
practice of generosity, Ma helps perfect the practice of pure ethics,
and Ni helps achieve perfection in the practice of tolerance and
patience. Päd, the fourth syllable, helps to achieve perfection of perseverance, Me helps achieve perfection in the practice of concentration, and the final sixth syllable Hum helps achieve perfection in the practice of wisdom.

(via)

I found myself drawn to this today, out celebrating Canada Day, and pursuing several booths with international things for sale:

My New Pendant

I never understood why Christians felt the need to wear Jesus dying on the cross as jewelery. I used to find it extremely distressing actually, and would get very irritated when I would meet someone wearing a cross. I just couldn’t understand it.

I do now.

It’s about reminding yourself. Keeping yourself close to your values. Having tactile and visual reminders in your own physical space, in your aura, in your self, readily available for the many moments you face in a day, where you need it.


Responses

  1. every time i come here i leave thinking how beautiful you are.

  2. I’ve been practicing “Hahm Sa”, I am that. It resonates most with me right now. Love your necklace.
    a.

  3. Love the chant…thanks for bringing new things to my world.


Leave a comment

Categories